Women parliamentarians elect new leadership at IPU

Chairperson of the National Council, Hon. Margaret Mensah- Williams (right) who has been President of the IPU Bureau of Women Parliamentarians for the last four years bidding farewell to fellow female MPs. On the left is newly elected President, Hon. Ulrika Karlsson of Sweden


  Story by George Sanzila

Geneva, Switzerland - The meeting of the Bureau of Women Parliamentarians ended its session in which it renewed its leadership at the ongoing 138th IPU Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland. The election was meant to replace representatives whose term of office will expire at the end of the meeting and Members who have lost their seats in Parliament or have resigned from the Bureau.

Namibia’s Chairperson of the National Council, Hon. Margaret Mensah-Williams has been at the helm of the Bureau of Women Parliamentarians as President for the last four years after being reelected for a second term. The term of office is two years. She chaired the session that introduced her replacement, who is Swedish lawmaker, Hon. Ulrika Karlsson. Hon. Mensah Williams thanked women parliamentarians for the support shown during her tenure. Apart from the elections, other issues that enjoyed prominence at the Forum of Women Parliamentarian’s 27th session included recent activities undertaken by the IPU to advance gender equality and a panel discussion on why women are still underrepresented in politics, the root causes thereof and how to address them.


Other Namibian lawmakers that formed part of the session are Hons. Elma Dienda and Heather Sibungo.

The IPU Assembly is a global organization of Parliaments around the world that brings together lawmakers to identify international challenges and make recommendations for action. There are currently 173 members and 11 associate members of the IPU and Namibia comprises this composition.

Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia