Former Chairperson of the Fifth National Council Hon. Margaret Mensah-Williams receiving a gift from the Secretary of the National Council Mr. Tousy Namiseb at the Farewell dinner of the Fifth Members of the National Council


  Story by Rafael Hangula

The former Chairperson of the Fifth National Council, Hon. Margaret Mensah-Williams has described the National Council as an institution of excellence, innovation, team work and of putting Namibia and its people first. She said this at the farewell dinner of the Fifth Members of the National Council held at the Windhoek Country Club and Resort on Wednesday night (04/11/2020). Fifth National Council has on Thursday, 05 November 2020 adjourned its last session sine die.

While narrating her time at the National Council where she has served for good 21 years, Mensah-Williams said “it was a privilege for me to work with most of you for 21 years in the National Council. I am pleased to be here to celebrate the good we could have together. She urged the staff and members who will come back to the National Council to carry the Upper House even further. “Please ensure staff members that you serve as you normally do with dedication, however I want you also to assist the members to move the institution even further,” she added.

Mensah-Williams who is now a member of the National Assembly stepped down in October 2019 as a Regional Councillor and Member of Parliament in the National Council to allow her to be eligible for the National Assembly after the general elections in November 2019.


Speaking at the same event, the current Chairperson of the National Council Hon. Bernard Sibalatani said “we have to celebrate a well-served term.” “I would like to mention that we have done it through our patriotism, dedication and commitment. It is not really an exaggeration.

Also speaking at the same event, the Secretary of the National Council Tousy Namiseb has encouraged members who are not coming back to continue to be ambassadors of the National Council. “Link us up to other institutions and carry the good work of the National Council and continue to serve selflessly, our local citizens as well as the global citizens,” said Namiseb.

Members of the National Council serve for a period of five years and are eligible for re-election. New members are expected to be sworn-in early December 2020, after the Regional Council and Local Authority elections.

Go to top

Disclaimer •  Sitemap •  Webmail • GRNnet •  Links

© 2019 Parliament of the Republic of Namibia